What they may not realize, until it’s too late, is that Nevada is also a state that isn’t afraid to crack down on both businesses and individuals who try to circumvent its licensing requirements. For instance, according to Chapter 648 of the Nevada Administrative Code, unauthorized practice of security services can result in fines of up to $2,500 for the first violation, $5,000 for the second, and $10,000 for each additional violation.
While getting an EP license in Nevada isn’t easy, it is possible. MPS Security is one of the companies that has gone through the painstaking process of earning this credential, enabling us to serve our clients who are visiting, doing business in, or residing in this great state—which means that our agents can provide these services legally. If you’re interested in doing the same, there are a few things you should know.
What You Need to Know if You Want an EP License in Nevada
Under Chapter 648, no person can provide (or even advertise) services as a security guard, executive protection agent, or similar unless they have obtained a license. The agency that handles EP licenses is the State of Nevada Private Investigators Licensing Board. It is this entity that verifies that you have met the necessary licensing requirements, while also handling any complaints that may be filed against you or your business.
EP applicants must meet certain minimum requirements before the Board will even consider granting a license. If you are applying on behalf of a business, each director and officer must meet these requirements as well.
The requirements are:
- Being 21 years old or older
- Being a U.S. citizen or otherwise lawfully allowed to work in the U.S.
- Have “good moral character and temperate habits”
- No felony convictions
- No convictions for a crime involving illegal use or possession of a dangerous weapon
- No convictions for a crime that involves “moral turpitude” (the Nevada Department of Education uses this standard and offers a matrix of crimes it includes, such as animal cruelty, child and elder abuse, kidnapping, and sexual offenses)
A criminal history background check is conducted by the FBI to verify that you meet these requirements.
EP License Exam
You even have to take and pass an exam before being considered for an EP license. Positions such as watchmen, guards, and bodyguards are all classified as “private patrol officers” under Chapter 648. The Private Patrolman exam is a 50-question test that you’re given one hour to complete. It is typically offered every quarter of the year, in January, April, July, and October.
Some exam questions are true or false, others are multiple-choice, and some are fill-in-the-blanks or definitions. You must earn 75% or higher to pass this exam. This requires familiarizing yourself with:
- Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) Chapter 648 – Private Investigators, Private Patrol Officers, Polygraphic Examiners, Process Servers, Repossessors and Dog Handlers
- Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 648 – Private Investigators, Private Patrol Officers, Polygraphic Examiners, Process Servers, Repossessors and Dog Handlers
- NRS Chapter 179 – Search Warrants
- NRS Chapter 193 – Criminality Generally
- NRS Chapter 200 – Crimes Against the Person
- NRS Chapter 205 – Crimes Against Property
- NRS Chapter 207 – Miscellaneous Crimes
- NRS Chapter 484 – Traffic Laws
Meet the initial qualifications and pass the exam and you still may not get your license. This is because you have to also meet certain experience requirements AND this experience has to be certified by your employer.
The experience requirement for private patrolmen is at least five years in this type of role or an equivalent. Additionally, you must have worked a minimum of 2,000 hours each of those years, having a combined total of 10,000 hours or more.
Before issuing a license, the Board requires proof that you are covered by insurance. This insurance must protect against liability to a third party, and liability limits must be $200,000 or more.
Insurance protection must be continued as long as the license is active. If it isn’t, the Board will automatically suspend your license 10 days after receiving notification that there is a lapse. The license will not be reinstated until you can provide that insurance exists.
EP License Renewals
Each EP license granted in the state of Nevada is good for up to one year. All licenses expire on June 30th of each year and must be renewed (or have requested a renewal) before this date.
The Bottom Line in Nevada Executive Protection Licensing
There is nothing easy about getting licensed to provide executive protection services in Nevada. Those of us at MPS know just how difficult it can be because we’ve been through it.
If you still want to get your license to provide security or protective services in this strict state, the State of Nevada Private Investigators Licensing Board offers a License Booklet that you can review. It is available in both a booklet format and an 8 x 11 full-page format.
Of course, the other option is to provide EP services without going through all these steps and meeting the requirements. Just be aware that if you do, you face hefty penalties that continue to increase with each violation incurred. This not only hurts your bank account but also tarnishes your reputation.
For Clients Needing Executive Protection in Nevada
If you are in need of executive protection services in the state of Nevada, MPS is a licensed and insured EP service provider. This enables us to protect you, your family, your property, and your business legally—and we are fully covered should an issue arise.
Choosing to use an EP provider who hasn’t secured licensing puts you at greater risk. What happens if an incident occurs and your agent or security guard has to respond, causing someone to get hurt? Could the person who was injured sue you civilly for hiring someone who lacks the state’s required credentials, even though they may have been at fault? They could. Whether they win may be another story but it can certainly hurt you if it is deemed that you knew your EP provider was working without a license and you chose to use them anyway.
Don’t put yourself, your family, or your business in this position. Contact MPS Security today at 866-678-4408 or reach out to us online. We can discuss your protection needs, also providing advice about which of our services would offer you the best security given your individual threats and situation.
(If you’re a skeptic by nature, you can do a public document search on the State of Nevada Private Investigators Licensing Board’s website and see our license for yourself. We won’t take it personally because we tend to be skeptical too.)